I am sending you out like…

I am sending you out like sheep among wolves. Therefore, be as shrewd as snakes and as innocent as doves.

A little explanation……This blog is called The Feint of Heart.  I like the meek and innocent aspect of just loving people and avoiding philosophical debate.  However, I got to thinking about the spelling “The Feint of Heart.”  Feint is a fencing term that is defined as a maneuver to deceive one’s opponent.  While I don’t think that we as Christians should be “deceiving” anyone, it got me thinking.  Although I am, in my opinion, creating the best effect on the world by NOT going into it with an ignorant attitude toward all types of people/beliefs, there is a certain amount of myself that is under the surface.  There is no denying that spiritual warfare is present in every day of our lives, and it’s just not practical to be a happy-go-lucky Jesus lover to everyone you meet.  Let me elaborate.  Everyone we meet is fighting a hard battle.  We are to meet them where they are with all the love and compassion that will fit in our hearts, but know the depth of the pain that this world is filled with.   Therefore we need to be compassionate and somewhat simple-minded and focused on the task of having love for all people.  We also need to be well-educated members in every aspect of society.  I don’t want to be mistaken as weak because I have faith, and I don’t want to be labeled as an ignorant Christian, unwilling to question what I believe and have reasons for why I believe it.

With ridicule for faith-based schools of thought becoming more present every minute, I want to be a voice of reason.  Let us everyday show the love, grace, and mercy that we have been shown, and let us be rooted deeply in truth and willing and able to speak it into a world where “truth” is becoming more and more irrelevant.

Matthew 10:16

One thought on “I am sending you out like…

Leave a Reply

